• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

A Complete Newbie

Snake

Hello there everyone I'm new here and I have no idea how to get started I've installed the .zip download on my pc but...that's all I don't know what host to use and I've looked for help on the main website but it's all open source this and that, that's great ok but I'm lost please help me get started if you can thanks.

Upload the latest osCommerce becasuse the one they supply through vDeck is old.
This is bad

i can't get to the db....
This is a configure.php problem

Personally I think that your host should have a working copy of osC available for you to install easily. But saying that, installing it is only a minor step and speed is good in the long run. There are many osC hosts out there (see sponsor on this page). Shop around and don't just take the first recomendation. Do an internet search for "host, osCommerce" and then search the forum section and see if they are mentioned (good or bad) and that will help you make an informed choice. I would start by registering your domain name, not with your host as that puts too many eggs in one basket. Again do an internet search for "domain, registration" and you will find lots.

[edit - webhosting recommendations/URL's should not be posted - Matti]

that's what i did.  i'm tryiing to upgrade now and it isn't pretty -- i can't get to the db....

login to http://your_domain_name/vdeck

On the left menu, Host Manager>>Databases>>Setup

Add a new database, then a user that has access to it.

When you install osCommerce, use "localhost" for the database address and then use the name, username, password you just used to set it up.

Ok thanks so all I have to do is upload all my unzipped osCommerce files onto that site once I make a site? And get started thanks.