• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

8% failure rate

I have been operating an MS2 cart for 3 months now and have been selling tons of SKU's. But about 8% of the time the customer complains one of the following:

1. cant log in

2. shopping cart empty

3. cant complete purchase.

#3 is explainable - it has to do with CC declines where the customer for some strange reason doesnt get it that they entered their billing address incorrectly and they just try again and again and again until they run out of patience but never correct the error.

#'s 1 and 2 are inexplicable. Because the cart works so well the rest of the time it cannot be a major flub in configuration. I suspect there's a browser incompatability issue or something like that. Customers claim that yes, they have cookies turned on, etc. One user was using windows 2000. I am wondering if some windows systems have a built-in firewall that by default blocks SSL? Will that produce an empty cart or no login only for that one computer?

Does anyone else see these sorts of problems?

To help solve #3 you should modify the error message that gets posted to get the customer to actually check for the problem you're referring to. Jeremy

This is under the control of the payment module, which redirects upon an error. That seems to be a design feature. I dont know if all payment module implementations do that. I'd like to see control return to osc, and have osc decide what to do with an error, where to jump, etc. But that might require osc to know about dozens of different payment module implementations.

I believe this API to the payment modules is a weak point in the osc design.

I could modify the payment module code at my own risk of course. Ouch!

On problems 1&2

Actually the "cant log in cant add to cart if I am IE5.5 on windows 2000" is more frustrating than the error return problem