• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Creating a picture gallery??

ehoyle

I'm new to this so please bear with me...

I'm trying to create a picture gallery from the product categories. When someone selects a product category, I'd like to have only pictures and titles appear -- without the large box and "purchase buttons". I'm doing this to get as much of the product infront of the customer at once. Then when the click on the image of the product they would be taken to a more detailed description.

Possible??

Thanks for your help.

Eric

Ok, I think I have something that might work. Through the Admin I remove all of the data except the product image, which is essentially all I wanted. However, the images get displayed in one long column. Is there anyway to display the products in multiple columns?

Thanks for your help.

I don't know exactly how to do this myself, but I can tell you where to look fo the code. If you have subcategories inside your top level categories they'll be displayed in a grid once you click on the parent directory. Then when you enter the subctegory the products are displayed in a single column. Make a parent with two subctegories in admin, look at it in your browser, and compare the differences in the code for both pages. You should be able to find the code that displays the subcategories in a grid.

OR you could make use of this feature, and enter your products as categories within the parent category, which will display a title and picture, then enter as a product with a description in the subcategory folder you've made. The drawback to this is that even though there's only a single product, the stock site still displays a product preview that your customer would have to click (the let's see what we have here page). Do a search, maybe someone has a workaround for this, I've considered it myself, but I have other priorities first! Hope this helped a bit, Jeremy