• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Getting the Databse

quietflyer

Hello,

I have been looking at using OSCommerce, but have a couple questions.

I need to see how the database that OS Commerce uses is set up, what names are used for each field, etc. How do i find access this? Im kinda new to this whole thing.

Also, I want to be able to simple put a link on the item. Meaning I don't want to actually have the person be able to add the item to a cart, rather I want them to click on buy, and be taken to an URL. Is this possible? There are some products that I want to have in the store that I don't actually sell, but I sell through an Amazon Associates program, so they actually buy the items from Amazon, not me, but I want to list this in my store.

Thank you,

Cory

Load the database and then use a MySQL admin tool like phpMyAdmin to view. Also in the OSC package there is a PDF file that graphically shows how it is setup and what is linked where.

It is possable to COPY a product link and past it ANYWHERE (offsite) that when clicked it takes them to your site and that product. From there they can then BUY it or whatever. My creating another link on that prodcut to go to your Amazon program.... Maybeingin the Free call for price mod.....

Load the database and then use a MySQL admin tool like phpMyAdmin to view. Also in the OSC package there is a PDF file that graphically shows how it is setup and what is linked where.

It is possable to COPY a product link and past it ANYWHERE (offsite) that when clicked it takes them to your site and that product. From there they can then BUY it or whatever. My creating another link on that prodcut to go to your Amazon program.... Maybe in adding the Free call for price mod.....to prevent purchase on your Amazon items....