• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

newbie - proposals for osc

marafa

hi

i m a newbie here playing off and on with osc and i keep feeling that i m walking blindly into things.

i feel that osc is not organised programming wise.

for example, to change the welcome message for the site .. i got to go into the language directories. thats a bit much .. that means i cant change it whenever my whim fancies. i guess i m suggesting a gui to admin messages.

before u all get the wrong idea, i love osc, its capabilities are amazing and the contributions make it more so. and i m also taking my own sweet time to get my site up and organised

next proposal, if i named my site something.com, why doesnt that name show up in admin site? plus, if i change my logo, the logo doesnt chagne in admin either. cant we have one logo for the entire site?

how bout a gui to select the site's logo while we r there? the code is being is available already

and the default path, as far as i understand for admin subdir is catalog/admin and if somebody malicious found the location, there is not default security option for it. a user has to manually create .htpasswd and what not (i m not sure how it is done)

if u all like the newbie prespective i dont mind complainin more later on ;)

for example, to change the welcome message for the site .. i got to go into the language directories. thats a bit much .. that means i cant change it whenever my whim fancies. i guess i m suggesting a gui to admin messages.

admin > tools > define languages

next proposal, if i named my site something.com, why doesnt that name show up in admin site? plus, if i change my logo, the logo doesnt chagne in admin either. cant we have one logo for the entire site?

Lots of people have their Admin on a different domain to their shop. To change the name, edit admin > includes > languages > <language> > <language>.php