• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Multiple shipping rates - not weight-based

lonotemusic

HI,

I am fairly new to oscommerce, and am very impressed with it. I have a problem , however, and I apologise if it has been asked and answered. If it has, I couldn't find it, and a link would be appreciated!!!

I need to set 2 shipping rates per item, 1 for the UK, and 1 for the rest of the world. I know I could do this with zones, but they seem to be weight based. I need to be able to set a different pair of rates for each item in the database, irrespective of weight.

ie - item 1 - ?5 to UK, ?7.50 to Rest of the World

item 2 (same weight) - ?10 to UK, ?15 to Rest of the World

(hpoe that makes sense!)

Also, is there an option to ship "at cost"?

Thanks in advance

LoNoteMusic

use two zones and just put 1 (1st item) or 2 (2d item) in the weight field of item details

then configure the zone scripts like this (zoneworld) :

if ($i == 1) {

$default_countries = 'UK';

$shipping_table = '1:5,2:7.50';

}

if ($i == 2) {

$default_countries = 'All Others';

$shipping_table = '1:10,2:15';

}

or via the panel :

Zone 1 Countries

UK

Zone 1 Shipping Table

1:5,2:7.50

Zone 2 Countries

All Others

Zone 2 Shipping Table

1:10,2:15

OK I'm going to sound really stupid now.

How do I get 2 zones?

I changed the setting in zones.php to 2, but I'm still only getting 1 showing up in the shipping module. I also get an empty drop-down box in My Store under "which Zone is your store in". Is that significant??

toutouyoutou's suggestion will work, if I can just get a second Zone set up. (Do I really have to enter EVERY other country in the world for "Rest Of the World"?)

Again, TIA

LoNoteMusic

OK, I now have the zones set up correctly and everything in that department is fine!!! :)