• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

MYSQL problem

Jeremy at oddly enough

Hi, I'm new to all this, including php, and mysql. I'm running oscommerce on a server using MYSQL version 3.23.54. While running the program, it shows this:

1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax near 'MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW' at line 1

select products_id, products_image, products_tax_class_id, products_price from products where products_status = '1' order by products_date_added desc limit MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW;

It seems to have a problem, perhaps with an undefined variable in the 'MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW' portion. If I take that part out, and specify a number n, it will go ahead, showing the newest n products. Would this be a problem with an include somewhere?

Thanks, Jeremy

Can you paste the code exactly? For example, if you use:

your_query = tep_db_query("select products_id, products_image, products_tax_class_id, products_price from products where products_status = '1' order by products_date_added desc limit MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW");

that won't work....but if you do something like:

your_query = tep_db_query("select products_id, products_image, products_tax_class_id, products_price from products where products_status = '1' order by products_date_added desc limit " . MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW);

that should work. If you present MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW as a variable then it will pass a number through....however, if you present it as the number you want to limit (as I think you are doing) then mySQL doesn't understand how to limit the results to a word instead of a number. Give it a shot...

HTH,

-Chris

Chris Sullivan

Here's an example of the stock code

if ($random_product = tep_random_select("select products_id, products_image, products_tax_class_id, products_price from " . TABLE_PRODUCTS . " where products_status = '1' order by products_date_added desc limit " . MAX_RANDOM_SELECT_NEW))

With that, I get the syntax error, but if I change it to this