• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

My site is up! (and it has been for 12 days)

Hi Everyone,

I just have a few (hundred) quick questions/requests

1. What do you think of my site - www.oohprettythings.com ? Constructive criticism, please, and details of how to fix things (I'm very new to this)

2. Is my hit count looking OK?

3. How do I get listed on Google?

4. Why isn't anyone buying anything yet?!!

5. How do I change colours of headings etc?

Thanks!

Shannon

I know there are hardly any items - like I said, I only just started it, and the nature of vintage clothing means you can't just call up a company and request some product!

I don't know how to remove the hit count!

Here it goes.

The hit counter is the least of your problems. Your site is just a stock version of osCommerce. Now there isn't anything wrong with the default look of it, but you really need to change it to set yourself apart from the other thousand or so people who use osCommerce's default setting.

That's where I would start. Add a banner, change the colors, spend a day or two just playing with the design. My site took me about a month or longer to get all my designs and graphics. A site that is installed in five minutes without any changes to it can't be expected to make much money.

As stated already, check out the wiki.oscommerce.com section as there is much help there to customize your store.

Good luck! :)

I'm laughing about your 'five minute out of the box installation' - it took me a good 2 hours to get it up, and then about 3 days to get all the images and 'mini-sites' happening.

I'm currently working on a logo. Is it bad that I actually *like* the default colour scheme? It works well with the backgrounds of my images, and is inoffensive.