• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

2 Stupid questions

LostInPHP

I know... no question is stupid, but the one not asked.. right? well I feel super stupid asking these questions. As I've said before I'm very new to the php scene.

1)What is the MySQL thingy? (told ya it was a stupid question) do I have to use it and if so what for? I clicked it before and it make my store all messed up to the point I had to uninstall and reinstall.

2) I use PayPal for payments... that hooked up fine, but I'd like to secure the customer log-in page as well as their account page... that little yellow lock makes people more relaxed about giving out any personal. How do I make those pages secure(this is new for me too). Do I move them?...I'm lost.

Terri

Help me I'm lost in PHP and I don't have a map!

Ok...."you are new".

MySQL is a database. It is what stores all of the information for your store. You can find out all you need to know about it at http://www.mysql.com

To make your pages "secure" you must run them on a "secure" server. You can use something like http://www.thawte.com to find out more about this. Many times your hosting company will provide you with a "shared secure certificate." In these cases....you simply use the URL which they tell you to handle all of your "secure" transactions.

HTH,

-Chris

Chris Sullivan

1)What is the MySQL thingy? (told ya it was a stupid question) do I have to use it and if so what for? I clicked it before and it make my store all messed up to the point I had to uninstall and reinstall.

Terri, the MySQL "thingie" is your database. The databse stores the information about your products, your customers, and lots of the settings for the osCommerce program.

When you say you "clicked" it....Exactly where and how did you do that?