• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

First Day with OSC - A Pro's Perspective

rolls707

Howdy all. First things first, I want to say thanks to the devs for the great job- OSC is a great piece of software. In case anyone's interested, the following chronicles some of my first impressions with OSC.

My background: I'm a professional web developer with over 5 years PHP experience, and have worked on numerous medium-huge sites with all sorts of slick gizmos. I primarily write OO PHP these days.

//----------------------------//

I've been given yet another mission-impossible style task, a full corporate ecommerce site in about 30 days, with a pretty staggering feature set, so the choice was "pre-built" or "late nights", and osCommerce was the choice.

After a few days of reading up on OSC and locating useful contribs, I got busy on installing, configuring, and customizing the app.

1. Install:

Very slick little installer. Easy as pie.

Question: why is the catalog and admin distributed in separate folders, even thouhg the default install has the admin in /catalog/admin?

2. The First Big Mod:

As has been noted, OSC lacks a templating system. This is a complete dealbreaker for me as I whole-heartedly plan to re-skin and re-use my OSC again and again. So I checked out each of the templating systems out there. The only one which really made sense was :

TEMPLATE STRUCTURE Ver 0.9 by Brenden Vickery ([email protected]).

This one works because it doesn't break the page names, which lets the SE-Friendly URLS work.

3. My first challenge: "The Categories Box"

I almost laughed out loud when I saw the code used to write the Categories box: 100% spaghetti. THERE IS AN IMPORTANT VARIABLE NAMED $FOO!! Now, not to poke fingers, but at my job, that kinda stuff can get you *fired*