• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

What file accesses the Customer/Order Database?

I'm brand new at this and setting up my store. I'd like to access the Customer and Order databases directly rather than dealing with them through the painfully slow administration screen. I assume this is possible but I don't know where to find them. Which file? Where to look?

Thanks

Mark

Not sure what you are trying to do but using the Administration screen is definitely the best way to work with customers and orders.

The administration screen should not be slow and if it is then that is where you need to look to fix.

"Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence." - A. Einstein

Well, it's probably not slow with a DSL connection, but with 56k it's a painful way to work with a database, it seems to me. The information must be stored as 'text' somewhere and it would certainly be easier to deal with it that way, as simple text, than it is to constantly click those screens. That's the idea anyway. If anyone knows where it is, I'd sure appreciate it.

Hey, I'm on dialup (averaging around 49K) and it is not that bad for me.

The only place the customer and order information is stored as text is in the database itself.

To access the database directly, you will either need to access MySQL via the shell prompt or PHPMyAdmin.

"Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence." - A. Einstein

Thanks Jim,