• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

[Contribution] Pollbooth v2.0

Ian

I've upgraded the pollbooth code in a number of areas.

First pollbooths are now multilingual, in that you can define title and options in the languages your site uses.

Second, you can now define polls which are tied to a catalog category. So you could say have a poll which only showed when the customer was in the DVD category.

Finally, it is now possible to post comments against a forum. This is pretty alpha code, and the layout could do with some tidying. But it works.

http://www.oscommerce.com/community/contributions,20

also see the test site at

www.zenwarehouse.com/new_cc_gv/catalog/

a category poll can be seen by clicking on the DVD category

Trust me, I'm an Accountant.

• Replies 356
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Ian

thanks for a great contribution, i've just installed it and have found the following was missing...

from your poll.SQL file needed the following line

INSERT INTO phesis_poll_config VALUES (6, 'Number of Comments', 'MAX_DISPLAY_NEW_COMMENTS', '10', 'Maximum number of comments to display on the pollbooth page', '2001-12-07 20:20:26', '2001-12-07 20:20:26');

I also needed to add the following to cataloglanguagesenglishpollbooth.php

define('TEXT_DISPLAY_NUMBER_OF_COMMENTS', 'Displaying <b>%d</b> to <b>%d</b> (of <b>%d</b> comments)');

In the polls.php box comments was showing as _COMMENTS which was defined in cataloglanguagesenglishpollbooth.php so i added the following to the top of catalogincludesboxespoll.php

require(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $language . '/pollbooth.php');

Finally i saw in catalogpollbooth.php that _COMMENT was showing in the 'other polls' listing so i changed on line 249 _COMMENT to _COMMENTS

Also i was wondering if you'd got some code to display the poll box on all pages

tia :)

Elliot