• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

A couple of basic questions about template

steevithak

I've just installed v2.3.3.3 and need to significantly customize the appearance. I've have a couple of questions about templates. I've got plenty of experience designing templates for Wordpress, Drupal, and Jooma, but I don't grok the OSC template system yet. The only documentation I can find for it is a couple of paragraphs in this document (which is suspicious since it includes "old" in the title but I couldn't find the "new version):

http://library.oscommerce.com/public/sites/Library/pdf/oscom23-old.pdf

From reading this, it appears the "template" is just a header and footer php file located in the includes directory. Is that really all we've got to work with when customizing the appearance?

Also, the location of those two files suggests any customization I make to the template would be overwritten when the next update occurs. Shouldn't there be a directory somewhere that's protected from overwrites during the update process and where multiple templates can reside?

How do one select which template is used? I can't seem to find anything in the admin that displays a list of available templates or allows me to choose which one is selected?

Sorry these are really basic questions! I really have looked for documentation but just can't find any.

-Steve

Well, osC doesn't really have templating/skinning like many of the other applications and frameworks you mentioned. It has a user interface and a CSS file and that's about it. Themeroller can be used to make relatively small changes, but if you want a major overhaul, you will end up rewriting much of the user interface. To my understanding, that's what template vendors are really doing -- rewriting much of osC, or at least the user interface. Sorry, it just wasn't designed to slap new skins on. I don't know if version 3 will be easier to deal with than 2.3, which is far ahead of 2.2.