• Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Open discussion on SEO

burt

• Replies 293
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks Gary, the timing of this post is spot on for me as over the past several days I've set aside other matters to bone up on and work on SEO on a couple of my sites. Thing is there's so many different takes on what's the "best way" that folks like me, still relatively new to the game, are befuddled.

For example after an hour or so of googling I came up with several "best ways" to write a title tag. One says no more than 70 characters another says up to 80 is better.

I've settled on using the SEO Doctor add on and am chipping away page by page to get the SEO score as close to perfect as possible

Since I'm no expert maybe some of the things I'm doing to make SEO Doctor happy may not be all that important but I am doing them anyway.

Some things I've done to the code to come along is

- make sure there's is a h2 tag somewhere there on the page. My OOB OSC code did do that.

- got ride of the model number on the product info page as it was showing up in the h1 tag and that didn't make sense or wasn't needed for the type of products I have. Meaning I don't think humans are going to keyword the model number to search for my product line.

One thing I can't do anything about because of LOCS (lack of coding skills) is address the ALT image tag issue that comes up when you use more than one image per item in an OSC 2.3.3 shop level. When I have more than one image SEO Doctor points on that there is an image with no ALT tag

SEO Doctor initially told me I had some page indexing issues due to canonicalization. So I removed an add on that handled that and use the built in canonical tool that comes with 2.3.3. That fixed some things up for the most part. However when I sort a category, two things happened that SEO Doctor flags out.

One...SEO Doctor doesn't like the canonical URL that results for some reason