• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Modules won't install

jcflashg

A friend of mine has a webshop that became defective. His webmaster was ill-mannered and slow.

I was asked to take over. I have never worked in OSCommerce before. But through reading of the manual and in forums I have managed most problems, but has got one remaining.

The webshop is in OSCommerce 2.2. RC2

Hosted at surftown.dk

Some of the problems came from Surftown updating webhosting - so all files were set to 644 and directorys to 755 in permissions.

I have changed were nessesary according to documentation.

But I still cannot install modules.

First I tried shipping, since it didn't appear on the invoice. But pressing the install-button just results in the page refreshing - but no installation.

I tried installing other modules - but again, when I needed to press install nothing happens.

Please help - my Google search didnt help, and browsing this forum for days didn't bring me closer to at solution.

Kind regards

FlashG

@@jcflashg

If the hosting provider has updated to PHP 5.3.x and that is an RC2 site as you mentioned, then you will need to update the entire site to be PHP 5.3.x compatible. This may or may not be a part of the issue you are having, but it will cause the site to fail if not updated. Another cause of the issue you are having could be an incorrect path in the two configure.php files. I would also check those.

Chris

ps. I hope you have at least basic PHP skills, if not, I don't suggest you try to help your friend. Advise your friend to hire a professional osCommerce developer.

PHP is 5.2.17 but server is changed from Apache to LiteSpeed.

The two configure.php has been searched for incorrect path, hence other threads has pointed this out.

And thanks for the PS! I like my friend very much and wants to keep him - so I have pointed out that my PHP-skills are limited to the basics :-)

- but as for now money is an issue!

@@jcflashg