• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Bad Addons

I really wish there were some way to moderate the addon section to remove the ones that don't work or are generally broken without support.

It seems when I search and find a addon that will solve my dilemma and I work hours to install it, it turns out to either be coded wrong or has no support from the original creator. Not to mention the mods added by people trying to fleece the unsuspecting newbie by forcing them to buy support or open an account with their service to get it to work.

I have been using OSc since 2004, and I love it, but I must have tried over 200 different addons in that time. Many were dead ends or partial solutions with no final closing.

Just ranting.

@@lyonsperf

Add Ons were originally called contributions which were either complete modifications to create or alter a functionality in osCommerce or just helpful snippets of code that the original contributor offered to others. Just because a contribution doesn't suit your needs, doesn't mean it didn't work for the contributor. Having said that, osCommerce REQUIRES PHP skills, if you don't have any then you should hire someone to make the changes for you. Nothing is 100%, especially when you add multiple contributions.

Chris

Hi Matt,

Better to check the support forum first before installing a well supported add on will have various fixes due to updates / bug reports etc.. I personally reckon with a 95% success rate with addons think the only failures in the past were mainly security issues which I must say can be a problem but where is the answer osc being open source??

I could imagine a star rating system would be good as orientation help before installing where members would be allowed to comment / review

an add on after the install.

Something to think about I guess !!

With so many changes happening on the platform and I believe also a commercial addon section being implemented in the short future