• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Want to upgrade from v2.2 RC2a to v2.3.3

evotech

To give you an idea of where i'm at, I am the 3rd person to be involved in maintaining this particular website that is running oscommerce. I have no previous experience with oscommerce but I have worked with several similar systems.

Basically I would like to know if this upgrade is possible, and get some steps to perform the upgrade if it can be done.

Thanks.

One more question, I just realized that oscommerce was installed to do the redirect from www.mysite.com to www.mysite.com/catalog I would like to remove this before, or after the upgrade. Is this possible?

Also I don't see downloads for these upgrades I need to perform, where might I find download links for all the upgrade files i need?

I apologize if this is not the correct section for this, but since I have this thread going already.

After looking over the site as it is now and the upgrade guides that you linked abvove, I have realized some issues with the way this site was originally setup and I am wondering if a fresh install of 2.3.3 might be the better solution.

I have 2 serious SEO issues.

First is the redirect from the main domain to the /catalog/ subdirectory, this needs to go away

Second is every single page on the site has this meta tag: "<meta name="robots" content="noindex,nofollow" />"

From what I understand of the new install instructions both of these are set during the initial setup.

Which brings me to the actual question.

Is it possible to migrate my existing data to a new install? If so could you point me in the right direction. A guide, steps etc, any starting point would be appreciated.

Thanks

Quote:

First is the redirect from the main domain to the /catalog/ subdirectory, this needs to go away