• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Image not displayed in Facebook "Like"

SagarJ

Hi All,

I am a novice here, so please excuse me if the query is rather simplistic.

I have implemented OSC 2.3 and have Facebook "Like" button on my site. When users click the "Like" button, it adds a link on their Facebook timeline page correctly, but there is no image of the product.

Clicking the link from Facebook navigates the users back to the correct product on my site. So I assume this is working as expected. The only problem is the image display in Facebook.

Please assist.

Thanks,

Sagar

Hi All,

I found the problem and fixed it.

Since Facebook has changed their code, a number of changes had to be made to get this working.

Just a summary of the changes:

1. Had to include a query in \include\template_top.php at the start of the file under immediately <head> tag.

<?php
$product_info_query = tep_db_query("select p.products_id, pd.products_name, pd.products_description, p.products_model, p.products_quantity, p.products_image, pd.products_url, p.products_price, p.products_tax_class_id, p.products_date_added, p.products_date_available, p.manufacturers_id from " . TABLE_PRODUCTS . " p, " . TABLE_PRODUCTS_DESCRIPTION . " pd where p.products_status = '1' and p.products_id = '" . (int)$HTTP_GET_VARS['products_id'] . "' and pd.products_id = p.products_id and pd.language_id = '" . (int)$languages_id . "'");
$product_info = tep_db_fetch_array($product_info_query);
?>

This query gets the required parameters for the "Like" function of Facebook.

2. Add the meta tags which Facebook "Like" button will read and use for sharing. These lines immediately follow the code given in Step 1, under the <head> tag.

<meta property="og:title" content="<?php echo $product_info['products_name']; ?>" />
<meta property="og:type" content="product" />
<meta property="og:url" content="<?php echo 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'] . $_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'] ;?>" >