• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Step by step instructions

ArtoriousNow

I am new to OS Commerce, and would like to know the Step by Step process for setting up a platform, uploading an original site and/or picking a customizable template and intergrating with Inventory Source.

Thanks in advance and looking forward to all responses!

Art

@@ArtoriousNow

lol.....that would be nice !

There isn't step by step instructions but you can refer to the documentation.pdf found in the osCommerce v2.3.1 download as well as the upgrade_guide.pdf if you are going to update from v2.2 RC2a.

As far as a template, there are many available for download on countless sites on the internet.

Chris

Hi,

FTP software / notepad++ I preferdreamweaver (or something similar) maybe some graphic tools / hosting account /domain name / and read the forums for a few days lot of insight and obviously the shopping cart download use version 2.31 if just beginning I would not personally bother with any older template versions on offer world changes to quick.

Regards John

To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.

@@ArtoriousNow

Follow the below steps for installation and for template, there are many free templates available. Just Google.

Step 1: Upload all the files and folders under catalog folder to the root instead.

Step 2: Login to Cpanel

Step 3: Select Main Menu > Advanced > MySQL Databases section.

Step 4: Select Create a New MySQL Database And Database User section.

Step 5: Fill in MySQL database name field

Step 6: Fill in MySQL username field

Step 7: Fill in Password & Password again fields.

Step 8: Click Create button.

Step 9: Go to http://yourdomain.com/catalog/install/ or http://yourdomain.com/install/ to start the installation.

Step 10: Follow instructions of installation on appear on screen.

Praful

Like post..hit LIKE button.

osCommerce | Joomla | WordPress | Magento | SEO | CakePHP | CI