• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Can I use 2.2 templates in a 2.3.1 install

midiman2525

Hi I am new to OSC and a tad confused.

Can I use 2.2 rc2a and rc1 templates in 2.3.1?

I don't want to buy an expensive template only to find that it will not work with the version I have on my server.

I,m using 2.3.1.

And will 2.3.1 version templates work with version 3 of OSC.

Thanks

Lee.

MOST available commercial templates are actually FULL osCommerce installations, not just graphics. If you purchase a commercial template, ensure it is v2.3.1. Once you install the template, you can integrate your current 2.3.1 database into the new installation.

Chris

No, an MS2 or RC2 template won't work in 2.3. But most places that sell templates have 2.3 versions. If they don't have one for the template you want, you should email them and ask that it be converted. I wouldn't pay for them doing that though.

Support Links:

For Hire: Contact me for anything you need help with for your shop: upgrading, hosting, repairs, code written, etc.

All of My Addons

Get the latest versions of my addons

Recommended SEO Addons

I,m looking on Template Monster and most of them are 2.3 or 2.2

I have 2.3.1 on my server.

I am also starting from scratch so I don't have a db to import as such.

Lee,

TM advertises 2.3.1 templates as 2.3. Beware of TM template providers, there are some very poorly coded templates on their site. Perhaps you should check with some of the members sites here on this forum. Those who have 'about us' links in their signatures usually offer professional services and correctly coded templates.

Chris

Lee,

TM advertises 2.3.1 templates as 2.3. Beware of TM template providers, there are some very poorly coded templates on their site. Perhaps you should check with some of the members sites here on this forum. Those who have 'about us' links in their signatures usually offer professional services and correctly coded templates.

Chris