• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Uploading files

beanzy

I am new to osCommerce and my go to guy is closed for the night...

I am using DW cs3 and can connect to my web site where I am able to download and view all of my HTML files for editing but I cannot upload back.

Every time I try to push one file to the root, I get the message;

"index.html - error occurred - An FTP error occurred - cannot put index.html. Access denied. The file may not exist, or there could be a permission problem. Make sure you have proper authorization on the server and the server is properly configured.

File activity incomplete. 1 file(s) or folder(s) were not completed.

Files with errors: 1

index.html

Finished: 6/27/2008 10:15 PM"

There seems to be a permissions issue but I am logged in and connected as admin. Is this not the higest level?

If anyone has a suggestion, please let me know as I am going bonkers....

Thanks

Suggestion...........don't use DW !

lol............If your just uploading, use an FTP software. DW is not good with most of the files associated with oscommerce anyway. DW can't be used (normally) to edit php files so there really is no reason to use DW. IMPO

Chris

Also, I go on to the web catalog/admin, login and click files but I cannot get to the HTML folder. There is no path, folder or any means to view the contents so that I can rename files. What am I doing wrong? Or is this standard where you cannot get to this folder unless you connect through FTP?

HELPppppppppppp

Suggestions welcomed

Thanks

permissions are set in on your host's control panel.. So depending on the panel lay out, you will ahve to go to your FILE MANAGER and click on the files and choose the CHANGE PERMISSIONS options (which shoudl be SOMEWHERE in the navigation of the file manager) The HIGHEST permission is 777 ( believe) which allows that file to be readable and writable.