• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Help for NOOB: working in a different directory

msl_007

Hey guys.

I'm new to the E-commerce scene. Trying to help my wife with her business. Anyway, I'm a little overwhelmed with all the various files and folders. This is a really huge program ... or maybe I'm just use to working on smaller projects. I do have a little experience programming (not much, though). I'm guessing this is PHP that we are using since the files end in PHP.

So, if anyone has any suggestions for some online tutorials which may help me with the basics as well as more intermediate stuff (and heaven forbid ... advanced stuff) ... if for no other reason that to help me follow these forums a little more.

However, I do have something right now that is bugging me. My wife doesn't want the customer to be in the Catalog for very long. We would like to have a "Products" page or section of pages on our main site. I would like to have an "Add to Cart" button (and perhaps some other features) as part of the main site ... outside the installation of osCommerce. After they click on the button, they are sent directly to the shopping cart.

I found THIS THREAD which featured some code that I thought would work for my problem. Here's the code that I ended up using, which doesn't work.

<form name="cart_add" action='<? 
$link_carrito= "product_info.php?action=add_product&products_id=96";
echo tep_href_link($link_carrito,$osCsid);?>' method="POST">

<input type="hidden" name="id[36]" value="69">
<input type="hidden" name="products_id" value="96">
<a href="java script:document.cart_add.submit();" target="_self" >Add to cart</a> 
</form>