• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

a few questions before I go with os-commerce

phil_b2008

hi guys, as you can tell I'm a noob here :). I have some questions regarding the potential functionality of OS-commerce, to see if it can fulfill my requirements, and would be super appreciative of any help/advice.

I will be setting up an audio files website. Customers will visit and purchase these files via a variety of ways. My questions are as follows:

1) Firstly, is digital delivery of audio/pdf etc files/products straight forward with os-commerce?

2) As well as being able to buy files in the usually one-off way, customers will (hopefully) be able to purchase credits. I.E $20 will buy you 25 credits. 1 audio file may cost $1, but will also cost 1 credit. So you can see how buying credit packs will encourage sales. Its a common and simple system.

so... will I be able to easily implement this? I understand you can get a reward points add-on, and I will create a product (which will cost of $20) which will result in a deposit of 25 credits in the customers acount (straightforward?). Can I set how many reward points each individual product will yeild, rather than 1 credit per $1 spent? This is critical.

3) is it possible to create a subscription system to take $X from a customers credit card per month, in return for unlimited access to all audio files in the catalogue?

4) Would it be simple enough to create a preview system for audio files? I would expect the easiest way would be to allow the admin to upload a second 'preview' file along with the main product. they would create this seperate file, rather than have the system somehow chop down the main audio file to create a preview on-the-fly. Adjustments to the database, coding, and the addition of a 'preview' button in the product details page would be needed I guess...

5) does anyone know of any examples sites (using os-commerce) that do exactly what i need in question 4?