• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Web root directory ? ( Godaddy+index.php)

kjamimate

Hi

I’m new to osCommerce and also PHP. I have successfully installed the shop and everything is working fine except that when I go to my domain I have to type www.mydomain.net/catalog/index.php to get to the home page. Can anyone help me with this problem? I have read another post but don’t understand 100%. Is it something I did during the installation or what? I’m hosting on godaddy (Linux) and index.html works fine with a test page if I go strait to my domain www.mydomian.net

Thanks

Balt

What you should have done was upload the contents of the catalog directory, instead of the catalog directory itself.

Never mind though, what you need to do now is move everything that is in catalog, into your document root. Then you have to edit includes/configure.php and admin/includes/configure.php and remove any instance of "catalog". Lastly, you need to delete or re-name that index.html file that is in the root.

What you should have done was upload the contents of the catalog directory, instead of the catalog directory itself.

Never mind though, what you need to do now is move everything that is in catalog, into your document root. Then you have to edit includes/configure.php and admin/includes/configure.php and remove any instance of "catalog". Lastly, you need to delete or re-name that index.html file that is in the root.

Great stuff. Thanks so much ,I struggled a bit with the “remove any instance of "catalog” part, but when I go to www.mydomain.net I get a distorted shop home page so that tells me that It’s working and I just stuffed up the code somewhere when trying to remove catalog from the configure.php files. I will reinstall and make sure that I upload the catalog files directly in the root

Thanks again you have been a great help.

Balt