• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

A few questions

zeldaz

Hello,

As the title says, I am new to osCommerce and using commerce scripts in general. First let me start of by telling you a bit about my situation. I live in Melbourne, Australia, and I own a women's fashion store. And then I thought a little bit about it and I thought that opening a website would be great to boost my sales. And I came across osCommerce.

Now, I wanted to get a few things clear. Since I live in Australia and we have GST (basically tax) on goods, I wanted to add that in. But since the GST only applies to customers in Australia, I wanted to know how I could configure it to make a 10% GST tax on goods shipped to customers in Australia. I hope someone knows a way around doing that.

Secondly, since its a fashion store, I want to obviously sell a wide range of clothing. One of my other problems is that when I add a product, just say a t-shirt for example, I want to add options such as Size, and maybe Color and other options that customers would choose from before they add the item into the cart. So if I post a product, I would like it to show on the product page or the checkout page or whatever, I would like a page for the selection of what Size/Color they want. Hopefully someone out there will know.

I am new to osCommerce and building this sort of website in general, so any step-by-step instructions would be greatly appreciated. And so far this website has cost me a lot of money and I haven't been able to do anything with it, and I was beginning to think I had wasted all my money.

Thanks for your time, and I look forward to talking soon!

You got to define tax zones for outside of Australia. You may want to look at the howto sections of the forums to get a detailed description of how to set it up properly.