• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

SEO Sitemap & RobotStats

I am really new to oscommerce and am just now setting up my first store. I've been able to get the store working, but wanted to be sure it would be indexed by the search engines. It was my understanding that the search engines would not spider across php pages, so I installed "SEO Sitemap" to resolve that. Everything seems to be working, but to check that, I decided to install "GoogleStats Crawler Tracker" as suggested in the instructions. after some searching, I found RobotStats" which is apparently the current version of GoogleStats Crawler Tracker.

The problem is that I cannot figure out where to place the 3 lines of php script that activates RobotStats.

<?php
  include($DOCUMENT_ROOT.'/robotstats/robotstats.inc.php');
  ?>

The instructions say you can insert that anywhere. I have tried several different files and different places in these files, but I keep getting SQL errors. Apparently, RobotStats selects its database and causes oscommerce to attempt to access one of its tables in this selected database, which causes the error since by then the wrong database is selected.

I guess my questions are as follows:

1) Do I need to use SEO Sitemap (or something similar) to get the search engines to spider my store? If so, is there something better than SEO Sitemap?

2) Where should I insert the RobotStats script so that the pages that are spidered are logged?

3) Is there something better for logging the spider visits?

As I mentioned, I am very new at this so any suggestions or comments would be most welcomed. Thanks in advance for any help.

Ken

Without a link to the contribution I can't be sure of what you are using but if it is the one I think it is, you need to remove it since it will get your site banned. For best results, install the Header Tags Controller and Ultimate SEO contributions. For google stats, install the google sitemap by Chemo contribution.

Jack