• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Newbie Security Question

Pos Nut

I am very new to all the PHP and online commerce business and need some guidance. Probably my questions will sound really dumb but i still have to ask them.

We are opening a new webstore and got a domain. As the bonus there is a osCommerce application available to install through control panel. So I have installed the webstore and it looks very nice. I am not going to make any mods to it because i simply do not have enough knowledge to perform them. I like it the way it is.

I have mentioned that in all the permissions to the folders and files are already set according to the installation manual(I guess installer did that). I also mentioned that I can get an access to files inside the folders(catalog, extras) by just typing in www.mysite.com/catalog/images in the browser. Or i can read file www.mysite.com/mysql_catalog.sql! The same applies to different *.php files in the catalog folder. This scared me a bit because if I can do it so easily then everybody else can do it as well. I am not even sure if I should worry about this access, maybe that is normal and nobody can do any harm by using these files.

I guess my gola is to make sure taht NOBODY can make any changes to database except for the admin. I do not want anybody to be able to see the contents of the tables in DB.

I know taht this is a very basic questions but I am just joining this community. Thanks in Advance!

Oleg