• Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

General Oscommerce & EP Installing questions for first time user

hsappleton

Hi

I am new to Oscommerce. I have a couple of questions I need help on:

1) I have installed osCommerce 2.2-MS2 from my web hosting company application. According to the option given to me when i did the installation, I end up installing on the root path. For some reason I am feeling uncomfortable with this and is thinking of uninstalling and re-install it again. Is there a disadvantage or security concerns in installing in the root directory.

2) As mentioned above, i installed through my web hoster interface and may not have selected the correct options, but i did not get an email as i expected with the links. I had to ask my programmer for a link to the admin page. Now I get to admin page without a login. This is definately a security issue here for me, dont' you think?

3) Is Easy populate a part of the installation? I paid my programmer to install Easy Populate and to show me how to upload the database. Sine I am planning to do a fresh install, I do not want to have to pay him again for installing Easy populate, as I now understand how to upload the database-I am not trying t get a refund from him.

regards

Ok, while waiting i figured out some of the problems myself:

1) I did not get a login for Admin because I did not complete the final part of the installation. I definately will have to delete this installation and start over again.

2) Easy Populate is not included. Aparently the programmer installed it! Now, I guess I will just have to learn how to install Easy Populate

3) I now still need to know where is the best installation directory. Should I make a seperate directory or use the root directory?

regards

3) I now still need to know where is the best installation directory. Should I make a seperate directory or use the root directory?