• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Security for credit card processing

lawandorder

I am a newbie who has struggled setting up my own website. (Thank god for the Oscommerce template). I am now ready to go live but I don't understand how to make my site secure for credit card users. Can somebody give me a quick explanation - someone I know mentioned that I need a merchant account and that it would provide all the security I need. I'm not even sure what that is ?

I am a newbie who has struggled setting up my own website. (Thank god for the Oscommerce template). I am now ready to go live but I don't understand how to make my site secure for credit card users. Can somebody give me a quick explanation - someone I know mentioned that I need a merchant account and that it would provide all the security I need. I'm not even sure what that is ?

In a nutshell what you need to provide a secure transaction is...

1) For your web-server, you will need to purchase a SSL certificate if one is not already present which represents

your domain name.

To check and see if you have a valid SSL cert for your domain, just type; https://yourdomainname.com into the browser,

if a valid cert for your domain exsists you will know it by viewing the SSL cert information when presented with the security prompt.

Otherwise the cert may belong to your hosting company.

2) You will want to figure out who to use as a Gateway provider.

Your gateway provider is the organization which will provide you a means of accepting and processing credit card orders.

Most e-merchants opt to work with PayPal because of lower monthly cost, lower per transaction cost, and providing you are using

a PayPal enabled shopping app as osCommerce it will provide easier setup for the beginner.

Another thing to consider is if you are a new business with a relatively short history of working with a bank it is nearly impossible in most states to acquire a Gateway account from a bank.