• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

56K and Performance

shahed

I am using a cable connection here, and the page was horrendously slow to download. I actually receved a "server busy" message a couple of times, so the fault may not entirely be your own.

Are you hosting the site from within India? The reason i ask is, I worked as a developer for a large international online auction company for about 18 months, and they had an indian presence. In the early days they hosted the indian site out of india, but switched soon thereafter to hosting it out of the US because they found that download speeds for their Indian customers were much faster from there, and for international visitors to the indian site the difference in speed was staggering.

One thing I did notice about your home page, I did a save page from IE including all of the images etc. Whilst this tends to bloat the code a small amount, the total file size of your page including all images was 285k, which is somewhat larger than it should be.

Maybe you should look at using some of the add-ons for using large and small images if you aren't doing so already, or if you are, take a look at better optimising the images that you are using.

I'm on 768k aDSL in the states. I too got the header rather quickly.. the main body was pretty slow. You should not be taking huge images and making the browser shrink them down. The end user still has to download the huge file first.. which is why it is slow.

I'm on caffeine here :) and I think you be worried.

... it is slooooow here (512 aDSL line besides the coffee)

I think it is ISP related as well, is your database hosted on a different server?

"Politics is the art of preventing people from taking part in affairs which properly concern them"