• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Template customization

juniew

I am new to OSC how do i customize the the look so that it looks exactly like my existing site. Is there a template built in that i might be able to edit. any help would be greatly appreciated

Hi Junie,

When we decided to go with OSC we looked at all of the 'live' stores for a design that closely resembled our original site. We have an animated javascript header and that was the hardest part, primarily because I know little about javascript and couldn't do it myself. We had to hire out to get that installed and working but everything else is my work.

My suggestion is to find a template that closely resembles your site and then spend your free time altering your working OSC (make sure your OSC Store is completely installed and working as you want it, always keep a backup).

Once our site was installed we went with a free template identified as Template 50 (http://www.freetemplatesonline.com/templates/57_50.html) and I then spent hours adjusting the stylesheet.css, index.php and many more files through trial and error and by asking questions here. "How do I change ..." was my subject line along with whatever I was changing. I needed to reduce the width of our site as close to 600 pixels as possible so I reduced the size of the table the whole site is created in. And then, through trial and error, I changed background and font colors, deleted a table row to tighten up the length of the page.