• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Mac OS-X (Tiger) on Intel Instalation Questions

mrdalej

I am a newbie to this forum as I am about to evaluate osCommerce in preparation to move my WS4D and Witango store(s) to a common platform. My test server is an 1.67GHz Intel duo core Mac mini with 2GB RAM and I am running 10.4.8.

So my questions about osCommerce are these:

1. is there an easy to follow set of instructions as to what I should do from the GUI and from Terminal?

2. what applications should I acquire besides osCommerce? mySQL, PHP, CGI etc etc?

3. is there a Macintosh forum inside the osCommerce forums? I ask as I was on another products forum and the LINUX geeks thought us Mac geeks should be elswhere and I don't want to offend, I just need to be frugal with my time. ie get the correct answer and not get insulted for not being redhat or some such.

A little background about me may help potential information doners. I am an ISP, I do all of my own DNS, I use Macintosh on 11 servers and LINUX on two. I host FileMaker Pro 8 Advanced DBs, I have 4 WebSTAR 5.4.1 servers, I prefer EIMS to WebSTAR mail (I have four EIMS servers). The first store I want to use as a test has a FileMaker Pro DB with apx 60,000 items (many are different sizes or colors of the same thing) and yes I do believe I will need to be able to use mySQL instead of FileMaker.

Thanks for any pointers as to what should be done to get to a finished/testable product ASAP. :thumbsup:

Aren't the Mac Mini's an Intel Core Solo, or is that just the 1.5GHz model?? =P

1. It is easy, as long as everying is configured right.

2. You only need to get MySQL (get MySQL 4.something). php and Apache are already on there, you just have to enable it. If you put in on OSX server., mySQL is on there already.

Rob

Rob Bell - Inspired Graphix

Customising osCommerce in Australia, and the world!

View my profile for web and email links.