• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Understanding Digital Downloads

MikeXRyan

I recently had OSCommerce installed by an experienced programmer who lives in The Netherlands. He did a fine job and I am most pleased. The whole thing is set up for (current) payment via PayPal and should send the buyer an url for their digital download purchase. We sell travel videos in digital format.

I'm a novice so I asked him to explain the process to me. Our time differences cause much delay between messages if he or myself have not gone to bed. He leans toward programming and light on explaining to the laymen.

Here's how he explained it to me:

"Normally you would have to upload the whole thing ( products into the

download directory and secure it from your cpanel ( from

hostprovider ).

When a customer pays by paypal it would automatically send an email to

them with the url."

I can't check this, of course, because I can't buy my own products with my own PayPal account. BUT let's go back to paragraph 1: "Normally... "

I found the downloads directory and uploaded an MP4 file into it as a test. I then went to the Category and Products men, setup a new category and added the product. What I couldn't find from the Admin's add-product menu was a place to tell the system where to get the file and make it available upon purchase.

What I don't understand is how the system knows which file the customer is buying.

Now the programmer put up a test product called software.zip. And when you view the product online and click on the "Details" then "For more information, please visit this products webpage" link I don't get another information webpage but I do see the url, which is: http://www.warpcity.com/shop2/template50/o...8475e5fba0ced2e