• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

SSL noob here... do I really need it if payments are all paypal?

HMS Bounty

people still need to enter their personal information on your site. if i go to a site and personal info is asked for, if no ssl i leave and never go back. and for 80 to 110 (depending upon what you get) per year not a bad investment. dont get a cheap ssl, they dont work, and if you change hosting companies, if you do get the cheap ones, they will not reissue them.

Here is a contribution I made for your exact situation.

http://www.oscommerce.com/community/contributions,4552

Other great Open Source (Free) programs: (Free as in free speech not free beer)

The Gimp - An image program. | Firefox - All you have to do is add the Web Developer add-on to make this web browser complete. | FileZilla - An ftp program. | Inkscape - A good program to create images with. | Thunderbird - An email program. | Openoffice.org - An office suite that is compatible with MS Office. | Abiword - Another office suite. | Audacity - A sound recording tool. | ddp's Picks | Wordpress - An easy to use blogging software. | Joomla - An easy to use CMS that has ecommerce plug-ins. | Drupal - Another CMS

How do I find these programs? Google Search!

A decent ssl certificate can be purchased for as little as $30.

If you are serious about your store is this too much to invest?

Backup before making changes. Backup before making changes! Backup before making changes!!

You did do a backup? eh?

It would be better to have an ssl but it is nice to have an option.