• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Register Globals turned of by host

I have been reading the forums for some time now and I am lost. I am new to oscommerce. I am setting it up to switch from cubecart for lack of support and features. I just got an email a few weeks ago from my hosting company that says that they are turning "register globals" off for security reasons.

So, I get the following error after installing oscommerce via fantstico package -

"Server Requirement Error: register_globals is disabled in your PHP configuration. This can be enabled in your php.ini configuration file or in the .htaccess file in your catalog directory."

I have seen where some of the instructions say to edit the "php.ini" file in the catalog directory but I can not find a "php.ini" anywhere in the entire directory and i can not find the "catalog" directory.

I also have read that the "register global" setting is in the ".htaccess" fille and found the following setting within this fille in the admin directory of the oscommerce install-

#<IfModule mod_php4.c>

# php_value session.use_trans_sid 0

# php_value register_globals 1

#</IfModule>

I changed it to -

#<IfModule mod_php4.c>

# php_value register_globals 0

#</IfModule>

just to see if that would work but it did nothing so I changed it back.

Can someone point me to the area that give novice people decent instruction on getting this to work? I have read reeally good things about oscommerce's cart and I am dying to try it.

Thanks for the assist,

Brian

I have been reading the forums for some time now and I am lost. I am new to oscommerce. I am setting it up to switch from cubecart for lack of support and features. I just got an email a few weeks ago from my hosting company that says that they are turning "register globals" off for security reasons.

So, I get the following error after installing oscommerce via fantstico package -