• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Newbie, that knows nothing :(

Muldrick

OK, (go ahead and flame)

Complete newbie, I have done stuff usings MS Frontpage and have an existing web site created with that.

I want to create another site using eCommerce, but I know nothing about how it works.

So, questions:

Is there some type of starter package...to where I can buy a domain name, hosting space etc, to where I can have this set up.

I mean, some hosting places don't use certain stuff, like PHP and what not, so I don't want to use the wrong place. I use Acenet for my current site.

I saw the post about setting it up, and Step 1: "Create a blank database via your web hosting control panel".

Yeah, go ahead and shake your head, but I'm lost at step 1 :blush:

Should I not bother doing this?

Can someone hold my hand through this...do it for me :rolleyes:

Lost...... <puts on flame suit>

Thanks

Hi Try qawebhosting.com They can give you the full hosting package, web name and database setup using mySQL.

they were donig a one off offer of Hosting for Life at about ?80. and a domain name for about ?15 for 2 years.

The guy running the business is Phil Day and the service is really good.

Tell him I sent you

Regards

Turan

Any webhost that'll allow you to have a database and supports php will work. However, this being an ecommerce app, reliability's pretty important. I'm pretty pissy at my webhost (Verizon Business Webhosting), so I don't recommend them. What I do, however, recommend is that you go out and read a bunch of reviews of various webhosts before you make any final decisions.

Always BACK UP your files and your database before making any changes. Before asking questions, check out the Knowledge Base. Check out the contributions to see if your problem's solved there. Search the forums.

Useful threads: Store Speed Optimization How to make a horrible shop Basics for design change How to search the forums