• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

adding mods now or later? Also DB or File setup

autocards

Hi All!

VERY Newbie here. I just purchased a template and the guy did a new install for me for a new start up store. This is all new to me so a bit overwhelmed right now. (but I will conquer this!)

I'm assuming I have the latest version installed. I saw in a post how to tell what ver. you have so I checked that. this is one of the first lines... $Id: application_top.php,v 1.280 2003/07/12 09:38:07 hpdl Exp $

There is a line way down that says... define the project version define('PROJECT_VERSION', 'osCommerce 2.2-MS2'); So I'm assuming it is the most current? Any way of telling if there are any patches that should be installed?

How do I tell if any mods were installed?

There are some mods I noticed posted that look like we could use. Any suggestions if it would be best to install now (while we are fresh and have no products entered) Or if it is ok to install later as we go?

I also saw that it is a good idea not to have your session storage in files vs. database if you are on a shared server (which we are). How can I tell how he set it up?

Thanks for you input.

I'm assuming I have the latest version installed. I saw in a post how to tell what ver. you have so I checked that. this is one of the first lines... $Id: application_top.php,v 1.280 2003/07/12 09:38:07 hpdl Exp $

There is a line way down that says... define the project version define('PROJECT_VERSION', 'osCommerce 2.2-MS2'); So I'm assuming it is the most current? Any way of telling if there are any patches that should be installed?

Never assume - an update was issued November 2005 to patch security holes (see the download section for details) and I'm not convinced that your template would include these. If in doubt, do a file comparison with a patched page & check that your code is indeed up-to-date.

Details of patches are here: