• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Total Novice

wideboythin

I am just starting out, have taken out a domain name and installed oscommerce and am not sure what my next step should be. It is all very confusing and I just need a point in the right direction to get me moving along with this project.

Thanks in advance for any advice that you may have for me.

wideboythin. :blush:

The next step depends entirely on what you want to do with your website. Personally, what I would do is wander osc forums for a while. See what contributions I'm going to need to install (Easypopulate would be a definite install, the others depend on your website.) Install the biggest and most tricky first, by copying over the relevant files. While you don't have many contributions installed, I found keeping a list of the affected files very useful. That way you can copy the files rather than manually install contributions for much longer. Work on the layout, work on whatever you think your website needs. I don't know how long you plan on spending on your website, nor what you're selling, nor what kind of market you're in, so I can't give more specific advice than that.

Always BACK UP your files and your database before making any changes. Before asking questions, check out the Knowledge Base. Check out the contributions to see if your problem's solved there. Search the forums.

Useful threads: Store Speed Optimization How to make a horrible shop Basics for design change How to search the forums

Useful contributions: Easypopulate Fast, Easy Checkout Header Tag Controller