• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

How do I edit my site?

costanza

Hello,

I am new with using osCommerce so I'm sure this question will be obvious to most of you. I just finished installing the osCommerce. Now, I am tyring to figure out how to edit the actual contents of my site.

Is it possible to use Frontpage? if so, how? Are there any other programs that are recommended to use (I know very little HTML?

Also, how exactly do I had a template?

Thanks for the help,

Daniel

for the code you will need a php editor.

free

http://www.mpsoftware.dk/

and there are of course plenty of commercial ones.

As of the html part on the database see the htmlarea contribution. You could use it for the products description for instance. FP or FW they are also ok for that part. But I wouldn't even think using them to do coding.

Hi there you might want to spend some time reading up on the forums.

There is also some great information available in the links in my signature.

Backup before making changes. Backup before making changes! Backup before making changes!!

You did do a backup? eh?

Is Dreamweaver a php editor?

ok, so I guess I need to download the files from my site, open them in the php editor and then upload them back up to the site after I edited them.

Am I close?

If so, how do I know what files to download?

Thanks alot for your help - I feel like I am slowly getting there.

ddp - I've been searching the forum fot the past few hours - thats how i got through the installation. But i'm kind of stuck on this one. Thanks for your help though.

Is Dreamweaver a php editor?

ok, so I guess I need to download the files from my site, open them in the php editor and then upload them back up to the site after I edited them.

Am I close?

If so, how do I know what files to download?

Thanks alot for your help - I feel like I am slowly getting there.