• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

how to make the shopping cart infobox stay put

zschutz

Hey guys, I've spent the past couple days searching through these forums trying to figure out how to get my osCommerce site up and running. I'm amazed at how much help i've found and at all the amazing people that help out people like me with their problems. So far i've been able to find answers to all of my questions, but there is now something i can't seem to find any talk about.

For my site i want the shopping cart to be displayed in the left bar, but i want it to stay in the same physical location on the screen at all times. That is to say, when the customer scrolls down the page to look at more products, the shopping cart is always visible in the same place.

I'm completely new at using php and only have a basic knowledge of html, so if this is a dumb question i apologize. But i can't seem to figure out how i should go about getting this to work. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated, and if by some chance there is already a contribution for this that i overlooked i would love a link to it. Thanks! :D

~Zach

I'm not sure I understand, but...

Make backups of the affected files., then....

in catalog/includes/column_right.php you'll find this line near the top

require(DIR_WS_BOXES . 'shopping_cart.php');

put two forward slashes in front of that line.

//require(DIR_WS_BOXES . 'shopping_cart.php');

That will eliminate the shopping cart box on the right.

Then go to catalog/includes/column_left.php

you'll find these lines near the top of the file

if ((USE_CACHE == 'true') && empty($SID)) {
echo tep_cache_categories_box();
 } else {
include(DIR_WS_BOXES . 'categories.php');
 }

underneath that, add the shopping cart, like so

require(DIR_WS_BOXES . 'shopping_cart.php');

Then the shopping cart will be under the categories box on the left. It shouldn't move around.