• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

dbase that contains only quantities & prices ok?

dom1949

Good morning,

I am a newbie with OsCommerce.

I have a client who has hundreds of thousands of photos and wants to use e-commerce. It is not feasible to build a database with all these pictures; but I can't have OsC without a database. So, after thinking, I thought that I probably could build a database with quantities and prices. The quantities could be called from a javascript function and the database could calculate the cost.

Advice? Suggestions?

TIA

Dominique

I'm confused. If it's not feasible to build a database for the photos, then how is it feasible to build a database for quantities and prices for each photo? What exactly are you looking for?

Yes. I'm confused too!

I am trying to figure out how to do this without creating a database for all the photos, since the client does not want to do that.

All photos come in the same specific sizes, with the same specific price attached to it.

I was thinking that the customer could choose a photo by name, i.e., "dance105," enter it in a photo name field, and then enter the quantity wanted. The database could then be invoked from the quantity and give the price.

I am trying to figure out how to do this without creating a database for all the photos, since the client does not want to do that.

Thanks for helping.

Dominique

If all photos come in one size and price, then that's simpler.

How are customers supposed to pick out the photo(s) they want to buy?

The photos are posted on the website. The customer uses Adobe photo gallery to upload them. The photos come in different sizes and according prices.

Dominique

I am not clear as to what I need.

There are way too many photos to enter in a database (hundred of thousands). But the client wants to sell over the Internet using an e-commerce solution.