• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

database creation: Access vs. MySQL vs. MSSQL

I'm completely new to osCommerce and PHP in general and am setting up (or attempting to set up) an ecommerce site for an author friend of mine.

We do not have ANY database in place yet as this is a new company. I've worked with Microsoft Access databases before, but don't know anything about the MySQL or MSSQL. I'd like to get some input on why I might choose one over the other.

Caveat: It seems that I inadvertently created a MySQL connection, but I think I can still change that if need be.

Also, I understand that I could easily set up a new Access database for customer information/orders, but am not sure how I would go about creating one in MySQL.

Any advice appreciated!

thx,

If you want to use MS Access, you will have to be on a Windows server using an ODBC connection, and have to rewrite the database calls to work with Access.

If you are using osCommerce you will definitely be better off going with MySQL. You can be on any type of server (Linux is better of course) and not have to use an ODBC connection.

In addition, MySQL is a *lot* faster than MS Access and can handle a lot more traffic.

"Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence." - A. Einstein

If you want to use MS Access, you will have to be on a Windows server using an ODBC connection, and have to rewrite the database calls to work with Access.

If you are using osCommerce you will definitely be better off going with MySQL. You can be on any type of server (Linux is better of course) and not have to use an ODBC connection.

In addition, MySQL is a *lot* faster than MS Access and can handle a lot more traffic.