• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

OSCommerce Newbie

cali22dude

Hi everyone! Im new to these technique in developing websites. I have knowledge on HTML and a slight understanding of PHP. For web development, Ive used Dreamweaver and Frontpage. Currently, I was ask to make some changes on this page (like rearranging featured products on an index page) and when I look at the coding I found out its been developed using OScommerce. I am used to hardcore HTML coding and I was kinda lost. So, maybe someone would be kind enough to tell me any references/books/manuals they used to build their own oSCommerce websites. Our site was fully customize and we didnt use the template available. I can see that some of you here didnt use the template at all too. Your immediate response would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. :)

The first piece of advice I'd give is to ditch FrontPage - it inserts it's own code into your pages and will completely mess things up.

OSC uses PHP on the back-end to connect to the store database and construct HTML pages on the front-end. A basic understanding of PHP will get you pretty far but the more you want to change and modify the greater your knowledge of PHP (and MySQL) will need to be.

The OSC Knowledge Base is a good place to start and this forum is also a great resource.

The first piece of advice I'd give is to ditch FrontPage - it inserts it's own code into your pages and will completely mess things up.

OSC uses PHP on the back-end to connect to the store database and construct HTML pages on the front-end. A basic understanding of PHP will get you pretty far but the more you want to change and modify the greater your knowledge of PHP (and MySQL) will need to be.

The OSC Knowledge Base is a good place to start and this forum is also a great resource.