• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Fallen at the first post - Installation

I am wanting to set up osCommerce on a test site so I can see what it is like and check it does what I need.

I have uploaded the Catalogue folder to my Geocities BT web space but then it tell me to run phpMyAdmin to create a database.

In the long run I would probably use 1and1 as my ISP who provide mySQL but what about BT?

Is it part of the osCommerce install or would I need to put mysql on my web site first or is it not possible to do?

I have never used mySQL before so home you can assist with simple instructions.

Thanks

You need to have a database created before installing osC. Forget Geocities, you won't be able to run osC on there. I wouldn't bother with BT either, I built a site for a client, hosted on BT and it is pretty basic. I think you have to pay through the nose for all the bells and whistles.

You need to have a database created before installing osC. Forget Geocities, you won't be able to run osC on there. I wouldn't bother with BT either, I built a site for a client, hosted on BT and it is pretty basic. I think you have to pay through the nose for all the bells and whistles.

your host should have windows or linux servers with php installed. if u have windows, asp also needs to be installed to allow you to run php sites - most hosts charge extra for this. you also need a mysql database run on a server running mysql - again hosts charge for this.

i would go for a specialized website hosting company - forget bt - they're more intersted in making money than being a website host, and geocities/yahoo/aol etc - the isp's that give u free webspace - will not meet your needs.