Jump to content
  • Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Problem with old info appearing in my product description page..


jsun

Recommended Posts

I am converting my site from a template and i erased all the old info and have been uploading my new products, i fill out the description page, it looks great on the preview but then when it displays on the main page there is old info from before. Please tell me how to get rid of the old info. THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I am converting my site from a template and i erased all the old info and have been uploading my new products, i fill out the description page, it looks great on the preview but then when it displays on the main page there is old info from before. Please tell me how to get rid of the old info. THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

well, you could check through your phpMyAdmin, or other database interface you have, first if the new data is correctly written into your database and also if your configure.php's do not point by accident to an old database (if you have more defined).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks for replying, however with no programming knowledge not so easy. Can anybody tell me which file names could possibly hold this old info so i can open them and delete the old stuff?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That information is only held in the database, and in a cache (if you use the cache feature on your website).

 

Go to osCommerce admin --> Configuration --> Cache and set Use Cache to false.

 

In your browser go to Internet Tools and select to delete all Temporary Internet Files and all Offline Content.

 

If you are still seeing the old product descriptions then you have more than one database and your includes/configure.php file is set to use the old database.

 

Vger

Link to comment
Share on other sites

That information is only held in the database, and in a cache (if you use the cache feature on your website).

 

Go to osCommerce admin --> Configuration --> Cache and set Use Cache to false.

 

In your browser go to Internet Tools and select to delete all Temporary Internet Files and all Offline Content.

 

If you are still seeing the old product descriptions then you have more than one database and your includes/configure.php file is set to use the old database.

 

Vger

The cache is on false & its not the browser. Can someone please tell me how to do this: "If you are still seeing the old product descriptions then you have more than one database and your includes/configure.php file is set to use the old database. How Do i unset it or delete the old database??? Eager to launch my website!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Vger is right!

Here is an idea: If your system is being built online, at your provider's server, ask support to help you look at the address for the database you really want. If you created a database and then added SSL, it is really possible that you have 2 copies of the database, living inside the same basic area (in simple words). Your copies of configure.php probably are looking partially at the old version, while you are working at the new one. This will also explain why your SSL will not lock properly. Ask support to look at your configure file in regards to their server. They probably know osC and have lots of other customers using it. They will probably tell you that the db address is wrong and tell you what should be the db address to use. You will have to change it yourself, probably, unless you pay them, but at least they will tell you if your addressing is wrong for 'their' server....and in the end, THAT is what you really want and need to know! Have fun...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...