• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

OsCommerce Vs THE WORLD

Mr Powers

Hi everyone,

I am very new to the world of oscommerce, open source projects and general ecommerce solutions.

I have been steadily preparing to launch my business online for about 9 months (fools rush in!!!)

Studying from what it seems like to be every possible ecommerce solution available on the net, I have gradually decided to use OsCommerce!!!

BUT................ due to the nature of my business, I will eventually need some very 'unusual' contributions to be developed.

My main question is this, OsCommerce from what I have read is a great package for quick web deployment, and makes great for a sturdy starter ecommerce site (advanced, with knowledge of coding)

But can i t really compete with the like of;

*Ofbiz

*Compiere

*Mail Order Manager

to name but a few packages which so many 'silver tongued' salesman have tried to sell to me over the past 6 or 7 month.

and if Oscommerce is capable of competing against companies like these, Why isn't it?

I've yet to come across a true international reatailer using this software, companies which may have the sorts of budgets which could afford dedicated programming staff to work on contributions on a daily basis (if thats possible)

I may not understand the true direction of where the original authors want Oscommerce to go, but surely to be deployed in a multi-environment, large scale, truly international selling environment would fully showcase the softwares potential!!!!

just a thought!!!

your comments please.

P.S Please make a multi-store contribution a standard in MS3

My opinion, osC is OPEN-SOURCE, free to the world, only limited by your imagination...

Why don’t people exploit it?