• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

New user: Having issues with writing permissions

momentum-shirts

Hi everyone:

Brand new to using OSCommerce, and I have limited HTML/FTP knowledge. I've got my catalog setup the way I want it, but the problem is, I don't have writing permission to most things. So, I cannot change the text on the front page of my website. The instructions tell me how to do so, but I cannot define languages or anything like that due to this issue with writing permissions. I feel like I'm running around in circles.

I'm trying to keep this as simple as possible, and prefer not to use an FTP. If I could just get this issue fixed, I'd be ready to go.

Thanks in advance to anyone who helps me with this issue!

-Marc

Hi everyone:

Brand new to using OSCommerce, and I have limited HTML/FTP knowledge. I've got my catalog setup the way I want it, but the problem is, I don't have writing permission to most things. So, I cannot change the text on the front page of my website. The instructions tell me how to do so, but I cannot define languages or anything like that due to this issue with writing permissions. I feel like I'm running around in circles.

I'm trying to keep this as simple as possible, and prefer not to use an FTP. If I could just get this issue fixed, I'd be ready to go.

Thanks in advance to anyone who helps me with this issue!

-Marc

You can set permissions using Chmod in your webhosting cpanel ..

Instructions below taken from a random site found by www.google.com with the search string "set file permissions without ftp". Sorry I was way to lazy to type it out myself.

-- Mindy