• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Upload the catalog directory to your server using PTP ???

robert23

I'm totally new at this and want to give it a try. "Upload the catalog directory to your server using FTP" were the first instructions I read in the Adobe document after I downloaded osCommerce. Yahoo Small Business says they are a PHP3 and PHP4 enabled web server so it looks like this should work. Their Help section says I need to configure my FTP client. Who's that, OsCommerce, Apache web server, MySQL database server or is it someone else? What's the catalog directory I need to upload? Is that the catalog folder that's in the file oscommerce-2.2ms2-051113 that I just downloaded? I'm hoping someone can help me get started with this, thanks in advance.

When they say "configure your FTP client" they mean that you have to set up an FTP connection to your website using an FTP programme, using the fTP details they will have supplied you with.

If you wish your osCommerce website to be available at http://www.yourdomain.com then you upload the contents of the 'catalog' folder but not the folder itself, to the root of your website.

If you wish your osCommerce website to be available at http://www.yourdomain.com/catalog then you upload the catalog folder itself and all of its contents to the root of your website.

Please note that Yahoo does not allow the use of .htaccess files.

Vger