• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

A couple noob questions for a beginner

Hey all, I am new to oscommerce and am hoping to get a couple questions answered.

First Off. After installing the my site.... I noticed the browser title and my bottom copyright notice still appear as the template does. I attempted to edit the index.php file at the <title> line. However, when I did so... the main php file brought up an error message with something about header.php and configure.php. I am wondering where I change the TitleBar of the browser window to my store name.

Second. This may be a ridiculous question, but it seems as if there is no protection for my admin control panel within oscommerce. How do I go about protecting it? I tried to password protect the directory of my shop from my host control panel, however only the main /shop folder appeared. If I password protect that, my site will not pull up. Any suggestions?

Thank you for your help

You change the title in includes/languages/english.php. To actually be of any use, other than appearance, you need to install a meta tags contribution like Header Tags. That will allow you to change the title on each page as well as the meta tags.

You need to add the protection for the admin section since it is not included with the package. If your host has that option, as you indicate, then you are probably not using it correctly. You may want to contact your host and ask them to explain it to you.

Jack

Support Links:

For Hire: Contact me for anything you need help with for your shop: upgrading, hosting, repairs, code written, etc.

All of My Addons

Get the latest versions of my addons

Recommended SEO Addons