• Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Installation Procedure trouble

tleekem

Are you using php5 on the server?

Vger

No. I am using php4.

I used prebuilt rpms (binaries) installed via urpm command on Mandriva Linux, which automatically installed Apache2, MySql, and osCommerce when I asked for the Mandriva built osCommerce. Apache2 is running as localhost on my desktop.

I am new to all these applications. I used SQL command line to create my blank database, owned by root. The only grey area for me, is how to assign a user to the blank database, as it was not covered in either of the sql tutors I read. So, when I ran the osCommerce Installer Process, on the second page, I used root and the root password for the database. Could that have messed me up? (It is the very next page which fails to print to screen.)

Additional info:

Concerning changing persmissions, the instructions said to change configure.php to 777 permissions at catalog/includes/configure.php.

However, there is no catalog/includes/ path. So I did a search for the configure.php file, and found it in two locations:

/var/www/html/osCommerce/includes/configure.php

and

/var/www/html/osCommerce/admin/includes/configure.php

So, I did a chmod 777 on both instances.

The User Name and Password osCommerce installer asks for is your MySQL User Name and Password, so provided you're using them it should be okay.

Permissions on all folders also need to be 755 or 777 (depends on system).

If this is a local install on your computer then you are making things unnecessarily difficult for yourself by using a Unix system like Mandrake (which I assume Mandriva is an off-shoot of) - unless of course you're running the whole computer on a Unix Operating Syystem.

Vger

Speaking of permissions, what can I use to change these, I am using localhost on my desk top. There is probably somewhere here on the forum that tells me but I haven't found it yet.